At a Meeting held in the Gamecock, Woodhall Spa at 7.30p.m. on Monday}, 25th February 1980, The Woodhall Spa & District Friendly Bowls League was formed. The Founder Members present at the above Meeting were:- Jubilee Park – Woodhall Town Golf Club -Metheringham – Billinghay – Horncastle – Tattershall Castle. Apology for Absence was received from Timberland. It was agreed that the League should be limited to 8 teams for its inaugural year and that teams would be formed of 3 Rinks of 3 Players each with 2 Woods. Woods within 6 feet of the jack to count. 2 points per rink to be awarded and no aggregate points. In case of rink tie, the points to be split- 21 ends to be played – 2 practice ends. The Aims of the League are:-

1. To provide match play for Club Members who for one reason or another would not be playing in the established leagues.
2. To provide these matches so that a minimum of travelling would be involved.
3. Matches as far as possible should be played on weekdays in the afternoon but this would not be a rigid rule and Club Secs. should
work out their matchtimes to suit themselves. Matches should, however, be played during the week as shown
in the fixture list – subject to weather conditions. It is hoped that clubs will avoid playing their 1st team players in any of the League matches. It was agreed that for the 1st Year, the League Fees would be #1 per team and as there would be no registration of players, no registration fees would be payable. Solvency of the League for the 1st Year would be guaranteed by the 2 Founders of the League – Mr Ron White and Mr Andy Stewart. ELECTION OF OFFICERS -At this point, it was proposed by Metheringham, that as Andy Stewart and Ron White had formed the League, they  should have the honour of filling the posts of Secretary and Chairman. This proposal was seconded by Horncastle
and carried unanimously. Therefore Ron White becomes the League’s 1st Chairman and Andy Stewart, the League’s 1st Secretary. One nomination was received for Vice-Chairman and that was Mr Twells, who accepted. Jubilee Park
proposed Mr Stan Guy for Treasurer and he was duly elected. One other Committee member was elected and he is Mr Geof Wright.. For Meetings there will be a quorum of 3. It was then decided that the arranging of Fixtures should
be left to the Secretary. Before the Meeting closed a hearty vote of thanks was accorded to the 2 Founders
of the League – the Date of the next Meeting was fixed for Monday 17th March, 1980 at the Gamecock. The Meeting closed at 8.40p.m. Signed: R. White Chairman Dated 17.3. 80